New MML Leadership and Board of Directors Members Elected

During the MML Annual Business Meeting at the MML Annual Conference in September, members elected new leadership to the MML Board of Directors. Members elected MML President Matt Turner, Alderman, Harrisonville; and MML Vice President Len Pagano, Mayor, St. Peters. 

In addition, several new members were elected to serve on the MML Board of Directors: 

  • Judy Bateman, Alderman, St. Peters
  • Ryana Parks-Shaw, Mayor Pro Tem, Kansas City
  • Steve Rasmussen, City Manager, Cameron
  • Marcieta Reed, Alderman, Vinita Park
  • Robert Smith, Council Member, Poplar Bluff


Matt Turner was elected to the Harrisonville Board of Aldermen in 2016. He currently serves as the Vice-President/Treasurer of the Cass County League of Cities; as a member of the National League of Cities’ (NLC) Public Safety Crime Prevention Committee; NLC’s Small Cities Council; and NLC’s Council on Youth, Education, and Families. Since being elected, he has served on various committees such as public works, public safety, and community development, as well as the liaison for planning and zoning and parks and recreation.

In 2017, Turner earned his Certified Municipal Official designation from the Municipal Governance Institute (MGI). In 2023, He earned his Advanced MGI certification. He was elected to the MML Board of Directors in 2020 and serves as a member of the MML Municipal Administration Intergovernmental Relations Committee.


Mayor Len Pagano has served the city of St. Peters as an elected official since 1983, when he was elected as a Ward 3 Alderman. He served as an Alderman until he was elected Mayor in 2007 to fill a vacancy. In 2008, Mayor Pagano was elected to his first full four-year term, and is now in the middle of his fourth full term as Mayor. He served honorably in both the U.S. Army and U.S Navy. Mayor Pagano currently serves on the President's Advisory Board on Community for Lindenwood University, is an executive board member for Metro Mayors of St. Louis and serves on the executive board for Missouri Mayors United. He has served on the board of directors for the Missouri Municipal League since 2019.


Judy Bateman lives in Country Hill South in St. Peters and has been a resident for more than 32 years. She works as a real estate agent with STL Buy and Sell Real Estate. Judy and her late husband, Al, have five children. Elected in April 2007 to serve the residents of Ward 2 for four years, Judy previously served as an Alderman for Ward 2 from 1991 to 2001. Alderman Bateman also serves as President of the St. Charles County Municipal League. Alderman Bateman currently serves as Aldermanic representative on the Planning and Zoning Commission.


Mayor Pro Tem Ryana Parks-Shaw represents the 5th City Council District of Kansas City. She began serving her first term in August 2019. She has lived in the 5th district with her family for more than 22 years.

Mayor Quinton Lucas appointed Ryana as Mayor Pro Tem of Kansas City in August 2023. She also serves as the Chair of the Neighborhood Planning and Development Committee, Chair of the Land Bank Commission, Vice Chair of the Tax Increment Financing (TIF) Commission, and Co-Chair of the Health Commission. She previously served as the Chair of the Mayor’s Houseless Task Force. She is also a member of the Kansas City Zoo Board of Directors and the Starlight Board of Directors. Mrs. Parks-Shaw is a long-time healthcare executive. She has a Bachelor of Science degree from Missouri State University and a Master of Science degree from Southwest Baptist University.


Stephen Rasmussen is currently the city manager of Cameron, Missouri, where he has served for five years. Before this, he has served in city government in four previous cities for the last 24 years, most recently Bloomington, Illinois and before that Jefferson City, Missouri; Ottumwa, Iowa; and Maryland Heights, Missouri. Prior to his service in city government, he served in the U.S. Army and retired as a Colonel and Garrison Commander. He graduated from the United States Air Force Academy and cross-commissioned into the Army as an Airborne Ranger, and served three tours in Vietnam. He holds a master’s degree in English and a master’s degree in international affairs. He and his wife Pamela have two daughters and three granddaughters.


Marcieta Reed has served as alderman with the city of Vinita Park since 2017.  She is a Missouri Certified Municipal Official through the MML Municipal Governance Institute and is currently working towards the advanced certification. She has served on the Municipal League of Metro St. Louis Board of Directors since 2021 and serves on the MML Economic Development and Human Resources Policy Committee.

Reed has participated in the UMSL Neighborhood Leadership Fellows, and as a volunteer on policy, environmental and community building committees with Beyond Housing.

Reed received her bachelor's degree in early childhood and two master’s degrees, one in education and the other in library media.


Robert L. Smith was first elected to the Poplar Bluff City Council in April 2002 in the Fifth Ward. He was re-elected in 2005 and was elected as Mayor Pro Tem by members of Council. He was re-elected two more terms through 2011, when he was elected Mayor Pro Tem for a second time. Councilman Smith was re-elected in 2017. Councilman Smith was elected by his peers as mayor of the city of Poplar Bluff for the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 terms. Councilman Smith worked for Operation Off-Street, and the Poplar Bluff School District. He is a Certified Municipal Official through the Missouri Municipal League Municipal Government Institute.


The Missouri Municipal League provides a united voice for municipalities across Missouri.  Founded in 1934, MML now serves 650 municipalities with training, resources and legislative advocacy for local government success. Learn more at